Fire ban rescinded

Rescinding of Fire Ban in RDOS Areas

The Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen (RDOS) – Effective at 16:00hrs, Friday Sept. 22, 2017, campfires will once again be allowed for those lands which are contained within the RDOS Fire Protection Areas, which include the Anarchist Mountain, Kaleden, Keremeos, Naramata, Okanagan Falls, Tulameen and Willowbrook Fire Area. BC Wildfire Service rescinded the campfire ban on those lands which fall within their provincial fire jurisdiction earlier today.

The RDOS, in conjunction with the municipalities of Penticton, Summerland, Oliver, Osoyoos, Princeton, Hedley and the Village of Keremeos has determined that more seasonal weather conditions and precipitation have reduced the fire risk in these areas.

The RDOS reminds the public that open fires larger than 0.5m x 0.5m, such as backyard and multiple pile burning, remain prohibited. A poster explaining the different categories of open burning is available online at: More information about current area restrictions, open burning prohibitions, and safe use of campfires can be found online at:


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *